- Main Topics
- Diventa Sponsor
- Register Now
- Speakers (soon)
- Partners (soon)
- Past events
Le Pagliere and Giardino delle Scuderie Reali
The Pagliere building is a complex of great architectural importance, of a unique type in the Florence building landscape. It is constituted by a long central body organized on two levels, with two lateral wings which qualify as foreparts, articulated on three levels. The prospect is characterized by an arcade on Machiavelli avenue and another one on the Porta Romana garden, with wide windows with baked clay grids.
The ground floor, now divided by partitions, was originally one large hall which hosted horses, marked by pillars and covered by cross vaults. The upper floor, introduced by the loggia, was used as a warehouse for hay. It received air through the arch openings, with the characteristic architectural pattern of the baked clay grids.
From 1932 to 1959 the monumental backcloths were painted at the Pagliere, where artists such as Giorgio de Chirico, Felice Casorati, Cipriano Efisio Oppo, Gino Severini, Toti Scialoja and Mario Sironi used to come to check the execution of their projects.
The complex of the Fabbric of the Royal Stables (Scuderie Reali) was built when Florence was a capital city, between 1866 and 1869, because of the Court’s need for larger stables, which could host horses and the quarters of the staff.
It includes the wide green area surrounded by the Boboli Garden, della Pace and del Mascherino streets, Machiavelli avenue and Porta Romana, where the Scuderie buildings, at the moment site of the Art Institute, and the Pagliere, used as Museum of the Figurative Arts of the 20th century, are located.